TEMPLE TIMINGS
WEEKDAYS

8.30 am to 11.30 am
4.30 pm to 8.30 pm
WEEKENDS
8.30 am to 8.30 pm

IMPORTANT DATES THIS MONTH

04 Rama Navami
07 Saundarya Lahari Chanting
08 Pradosham
09 Venkateshwara Swamy Pooja
10 Sathyanarayana Puja
14 Durga Pooja
14 Tamil New year's Day
14 Chittirai masam begins
14 Sankashta Chaturthi
14 Good Friday holiday
15 Hanuman Chalisa
24 Pradosham
28 Vaishaka Masa begins
For detailed Calendar CLICK HERE

Visit our Photo Gallery

** PLEASE DESCRIBE THIS IMAGE **

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter to receive updates on happenings at the Temple and the Community Hall
reload the page to change the code

 

Pradosham

Pradosham is a significant day to worship Lord Shiva and Goddess Parvathi. It falls on the the 13th day (Trayodasi) of lunar (moon) cycle and hence falls two times in a month, once in the waxing period and once in the waning period.

Pradhosha time is especially meant for praying Lord Shiva. It is believed that praying during that time to Lord Shiva with all sincerity will free us from out sins and gives moksha finally (hence the name Pradhosha).

Since Monday is dedicated to Shiva, the Pradosha falling on Monday is referred as Soma Pradosham and is considered highly auspicious. Pradosha falling on Saturday during the waning phase of moon is also auspicious. It is believed that all the Devas & Gods are assembled in the Shiva temples during Pradosham time. Further, the first pradosham was on a Saturday & hence "Sani Pradosham" is even more auspicious

Pradosham days in the year 2017 are :

09 January
Monday
24 January
Tuesday
08 February Wednesday
23 February
Thursday
09 March Thursday
25 March Saturday (Shani Pradosham)
08 April Saturday (Shani Pradosham)
24 April Monday
07 May Sunday
23 May
Tuesday
06 June Tuesday
21 June Wednesday
06 July Thursday
20 July Thursday
04 August
Friday
19 August Saturday (Shani Pradosham)
03 September Sunday
17 September Sunday
02 October Monday
16 October
Monday
01 November Wednesday
15 November Wednesday
30 November Thursday
15 December Friday
30 December Saturday (**last Pradosham of 2017 - Shani)

Special Pooja and Abhishekam is performed to Lord Shiva on all Pradosham days at 6.30 pm

Full Pooja with Abhishekam - $151.00
Pradosha Pooja & Archana - $31.00

A very powerful mantra of Lord Shiva is the Maha Mrityunjaya Mantra and its meaning

Om Tryamlakam Yajamahe
Sugandhim Pustivardhanam
Urva rukamiva Bandhanan
Mrtyor muksheeya Ma amritat

Om. We worship The Three-Eyed Lord Shiva who is fragrant and who increasingly nourishes the devotees.

By worshipping him may we be liberated from death for the sake of immortality just as the ripe cucumber easily separates itself from the binding stalk.


 

 

 
     

Visit our Photo Gallery

 
                 

Sringeri Vidya Bharati Foundation (Canada)
80 Brydon Dr., Etobicoke, ON, M9W 4N6 Phone: 416-745-1010
Questions or Comments about this website ? Email the Web Master
Disclaimer

Copyright © 2008 – 2015 by Sringeri Vidya Bharati Foundation (Canada) All Rights Reserved.